Which keyboard sound apps run on your macOS
Updated
On macOS 13 Ventura you can run Teclo, Keeby, KeyThock, Kachunk, KeyBell, the App Store Thock and the open-source Thock (13.5 or later). Klakk, Kiiwi and Keycap need macOS 14, and Klack and Tacque need macOS 15. None lists a maximum, so all of them should run on macOS 26 and 27, but the classic Mechvibes app is Intel-only and depends on Rosetta.
1-day free trial · $4.99 once · up to 3 Macs · macOS 13+
Secure checkout, payments byStripe· 14-day refund, no questions asked
Minimum macOS of each app
| macOS | Where to get it | |
|---|---|---|
| Teclo | 13 or later | Direct, at teclo.app, through Polar |
| KeyBell | 11.0 or later1 | Mac App Store, since 20201 |
| Thock - Mechanical Keyboard | 13.0 or later2 | Mac App Store2 |
| Keeby | 13.0 or later3 | Mac App Store3 |
| KeyThock | 13.0 or later4 | Mac App Store4 |
| Kachunk | 13.0 or later5 | Mac App Store5 |
| Klakk | 14.0 or later6 | Mac App Store6 |
| Kiiwi | 14 or later7 | Direct8 |
| Keycap | 14.0 or later9 | Mac App Store9 |
| Klack | 15.0 or later10 | Mac App Store, and direct11 |
| Tacque | 15.0 or later12 | Mac App Store; Setapp; a standalone version from USD 4.9913 |
| TypeLouder | 15.5 or later14 | Mac App Store14 |
- KeyBell on the Mac App Store (US), read October 2026
- Thock - Mechanical Keyboard on the Mac App Store (US), read October 2026
- Keeby on the Mac App Store (US), read October 2026
- KeyThock on the Mac App Store (US), read October 2026
- Kachunk on the Mac App Store (US), read October 2026
- Klakk on the Mac App Store (US), read October 2026
- Kiiwi's llms.txt, read October 2026
- kiiwi.app, read October 2026
- Keycap on the Mac App Store (US), read October 2026
- Klack on the Mac App Store (US), read October 2026
- Klack FAQ, read October 2026
- Tacque on the Mac App Store (US), read October 2026
- Tacque on Setapp, read October 2026
- TypeLouder on the Mac App Store (US), read October 2026
Teclo's column is ours. Other apps change their prices and features; check their pages before you buy.
The table above gives each app’s own minimum, as its App Store listing or its maker’s page states it. We read the App Store figures again through Apple’s lookup API on 25 October 2026, and they matched. No app lists a maximum, so the table below assumes each runs on every later macOS; we have not run each app on each version.
By macOS version
| Your macOS | Apps that run on it |
|---|---|
| 13 Ventura | Teclo, Keeby, KeyThock, Kachunk, KeyBell, Thock - Mechanical Keyboard; the open-source Thock from 13.5 |
| 14 Sonoma | All of the above, plus Klakk, Kiiwi and Keycap |
| 15 Sequoia | All of the above, plus Klack and Tacque; TypeLouder from 15.5 |
| 26 Tahoe | Every app in the table |
| 27 Golden Gate | Every app in the table, on Apple silicon only |
macOS 26 Tahoe is as far as an Intel Mac goes: Apple’s list of Macs compatible with macOS 27 Golden Gate names only Macs with Apple silicon. If you are on an Intel Mac, every app above still runs on Tahoe.
Older Macs: macOS 11 and 12
KeyBell lists macOS 11.0 or later, the lowest minimum of the apps we track. On macOS 12 Monterey or 11 Big Sur it is the one App Store choice here; the others need 13 or later.
Intel, Apple silicon and Rosetta
An app built only for Intel processors runs on an Apple silicon Mac through Rosetta. Apple’s developer news, dated 1 September 2026, says: “macOS 27: Final release to support Rosetta — Intel-only apps will no longer run on Mac computers with Apple silicon after this update.”
We checked the downloadable apps’ binaries with lipo -archs:
| App | Built for | Minimum macOS |
|---|---|---|
| Teclo 1.0.10 | Apple silicon and Intel | 13.0 |
| Thock (open source) 1.23.0 | Apple silicon and Intel | 13.5 |
| Mechvibes 2.3.4, the last classic release, from December 2023 | Intel only | Not stated |
| MechvibesDX 0.8.4 | Apple silicon (its Mac download is an arm64 build) | Not stated |
So the classic Mechvibes app depends on Rosetta on any Apple silicon Mac, and by Apple’s statement it stops running there after macOS 27. Its successor, MechvibesDX, ships an Apple silicon build. Teclo vs Mechvibes covers the rest.
Teclo’s minimum
Teclo runs on macOS 13 Ventura or later, on Intel and Apple silicon Macs. Its Info.plist sets the minimum at 13.0, and the copy sold on teclo.app is one universal app for both kinds of Mac.
For what each app costs and how it sounds, see the guide to keyboard sound apps for Mac and free keyboard sound apps. If an app installs but stays silent after a macOS update, keyboard sound app not working has the checks.
Questions
Which keyboard sound apps work on macOS Ventura?
Teclo, Keeby, KeyThock, Kachunk, KeyBell and Thock - Mechanical Keyboard list macOS 13.0 or earlier; the open-source Thock needs 13.5. Klack, Klakk, Kiiwi, Keycap, Tacque and TypeLouder need a newer macOS.
Does Klack work on macOS 14 Sonoma?
No. Klack's App Store listing requires macOS 15.0 or later.
Will Mechvibes keep working on Apple silicon Macs?
The classic Mechvibes 2.3.4 Mac app is built for Intel only, so it runs through Rosetta. Apple says macOS 27 is the last release where Intel-only apps run on Apple silicon. MechvibesDX has an Apple silicon build.
How do I see which macOS I have?
Choose Apple menu, About This Mac. The window shows the macOS name and version number.
Sources
Other facts on this page come from these pages, read on or before the date above.